FBPD’s Records Division provides local (Flagler Beach) copies of accident reports and event reports for incidents which occurred in the jurisdiction of the City of Flagler Beach
If a report was taken by a law enforcement official from another agency (for example, Flagler County Sheriff’s Office or the Florida Highway Patrol), FBPD will not have the records. You must contact the agency that took the report.
Obtain Accident or Incident Reports
Reports taken by officers may take several days to reach the Records Division. Before you make a trip to FBPD, please call us at (386) 517-2023 to make sure we have the report on file.
To pick up a report in person, visit the Records Division at the FBPD headquarters, open Monday – Friday from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. You must bring a photo I.D in order to obtain reports. Reports are usually processed and delivered while you wait.
For copies of accident or incident reports, you must include:
- Case number (if available)
- Date, time and location of the incident or accident
- The name(s) of the person(s) involved.
IMPORTANT: If you wish to obtain a traffic accident report within 60 days of the incident, Florida law requires that you complete a Request for Traffic Crash Report Information Form indicating you are entitled to receive it (please review the form to make certain you are eligible). Bring the completed form with you when you come to FBPD to pick up your report. After 60 days, the form is not necessary and anyone may obtain a copy of the report. You can download the form here.
Payments must be made by cash, check or money order. FBPD does not accept credit or debit cards.
|Incident Reports||Requiring less than 15 minutes of research: $0.15 per page
Requiring more than 15 minutes of research: $3.00 plus $0.15 per page (Traffic Accidents – $2.00 Flat)
|Certified report copies||Requiring less than 15 minutes of research: $0.15 per page plus $1.00
Requiring more than 15 minutes of research: $3.00 plus $0.15 per page plus $1.00
|Traffic Homicide Reports||$12.00 per hour plus $0.15 per page|
|Homicide reports||$12.00 per hour plus $0.15 per page|
Reports are provided at no cost to law enforcement agencies, government agencies, registered not-for-profit organizations and bona-fide media organizations.
Privacy And Restricted Information
By Florida statute, not all information contained in reports can be released to the public. Refer to Florida Statute 119 for more information.
- In narcotics cases, all undercover law enforcement officers’ names and identifying information must be redacted (blacked out).
- In sex crime and sexual abuse cases, all victim information including name, address, telephone number, etc., must be redacted (blacked out). However, the victim may obtain a copy of the full non-redacted report.
- Social Security numbers cannot be released in a report.
- Personally-identifying information about law enforcement officers and their families including address, phone number, etc., cannot be released.
- Traffic crash reports are confidential and prohibited from public review for sixty (60) days from the date the report was filed. However, reports are immediately available to the parties involved in the crash, their legal representatives, their licensed insurance agents, their insurers or insurers to which they have applied for coverage. If you wish to obtain an accident report within 60 days of the incident, Florida law requires that you complete a Request for Traffic Crash Report Information Form indicating you are entitled to receive it (please review the form to make certain you are eligible). After 60 days, the form is not necessary and anyone may obtain a copy of the report. You may download the form here.
For Records Requests, please contact:
Susie Buttner (Records Clerk)
Phone: (386)517-2020, ext. 301
P.O. Box 36
Flagler Beach, Florida 32136
Phone: (386)517-2037, ext. 309